Command & Conquer Communications Center

keeping the classics alive!

Author Topic: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8  (Read 45573 times)

Offline Megumi

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #60 on: January 19, 2013, 11:48:51 AM »
I still find it strange that you use that wine stuff while the wrapper posted on page 2 does everything that is needed on its own.

Offline SaidiTheory

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
  • Nerdo Guy
    • View Profile
    • Saidi Theory
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #61 on: January 30, 2013, 04:21:38 PM »
Hello guys, I noticed that users on this forum are active and have knowledge, I loved the feedback users gave to each other here

I tried my best to read all the comments here before answering (with a solution) just to make sure I don't answer something that is already answered

I noticed that you shared a file to be placed on the TS folder, which is a good fix

I made a tutorial today on how to play Tiberian Sun Online on my Blog, and on the same Tutorial I answered many questions related to the game, like the "Glitchy Menu Thing"

I saw many users posting on other forums another way (the best way) to solve the glitch on the game menu, without the (alt+tab) thing

Your post is about a problem with the game menu, feel free you can check my http://saidi-theory.blogspot.com/2013/01/play-cnc-tiberian-sun-online.html

This message goes to all the users: This tutorial teach you how to Play TS Online and it contains Q&A Like the glitch with the menu

I shared my tutorial since the technique on my tutorial was not shared here yet

I'm not spamming and if you have a question feel free to ask me  :)

I want to share my experience and to learn from yours

Good luck :)
Wondering how to play TS Online ?
Wondering how to fix TS game menu glitch ?
Check out my tutorial then -> http://saidi-theory.blogspot.com/2013/01/play-cnc-tiberian-sun-online.html

Offline Nyerguds

  • C&C1 H4x0r
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2906
  • Green Forum Alien
    • View Profile
    • C&C95 Project 1.06
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #62 on: January 31, 2013, 08:29:57 AM »
Huh, so you mean this may just be caused by power saving options?

Offline DeathMarineEK

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #63 on: February 02, 2013, 08:41:46 PM »
I'm not sure if maybe I missed this, maybe I'm just stupid, but I still don't understand how to change the configuration in the ddraw download located in the earlier post, I saw that ForceDirectDrawEmulation needs to be 1 as does NoVideoMemory, but I don't understand how to change them :( I have downloaded the CnC graphics patcher as well as the http://tore.cnc-comm.com/TS_Win8fix.zip and applied all of the compatibility settings, but the gameplay is still choppy and menus freeze whenever I save the game. If somebody could just post how to change the setting in the config of the ddraw that would be great, if not I'll make-do I guess. Thanks for all the help! 8)

Offline DeathMarineEK

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #64 on: February 02, 2013, 08:57:53 PM »
I also just tried disabling the compatibility settings when running in fullscreen and it had no effect, and then I tried putting it back into windowed mode which made it worse lol. The game is slowing down every time I scroll or move units.

Offline Nyerguds

  • C&C1 H4x0r
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2906
  • Green Forum Alien
    • View Profile
    • C&C95 Project 1.06
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #65 on: February 03, 2013, 01:36:07 PM »
I saw that ForceDirectDrawEmulation needs to be 1 as does NoVideoMemory, but I don't understand how to change them :(
There's a text file called "aqrit.cfg" in the ddraw download. Open it in notepad. It contains the settings.

Offline SaidiTheory

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 6
  • Nerdo Guy
    • View Profile
    • Saidi Theory
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #66 on: February 06, 2013, 01:39:40 AM »
Huh, so you mean this may just be caused by power saving options?

Yes, and this fix works perfect for windows 7 users
I installed Windows 8 today and I couldn't fix it
and the menu glitch that I'm facing is exactly like the one posted by a guy on this forum
It is different from the normal glitch
on Windows 7 32x
  Corrupted Menu ~ Works when clicked on it ~ But is corrupted
  OR
  Frozen Menu ~ Can be Unfrozen by using the scroll on the touchpad to activate OSD
Both (Corrupted and Frozen) menu on Windows 7 can be fixed by using "High Performance" plan, it's kinda obvious why it only happens with laptop users
on Windows 8 64x
  Its totally frozen ~ Scroll thing doesn't work, and like the guy said "You can only hear thing, but you can't see anything"
I'll try to search for a fix, which seems impossible to me.. I have some theories and I'll check them tomorrow
And I hope that my theory is right since 85% of the users on the worls skip that thing.. I hope it works it works.. if it does I will post it here tomorrow
Thanks and Good luck
Wondering how to play TS Online ?
Wondering how to fix TS game menu glitch ?
Check out my tutorial then -> http://saidi-theory.blogspot.com/2013/01/play-cnc-tiberian-sun-online.html

Offline Nogrod

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #67 on: February 10, 2013, 04:16:28 PM »
I had the same issues on Win8 x64. The ddraw.dll fixes made it possible to play but i had always scrolling lags and sometimes issues with the menus (mostly saving). After a lot of try&error i've found a way were these issues are gone (well main menu isn't centered because of static resolution, but i think thats no real problem).
1. Compatibility mode for Game.exe (only 16bit colours and admin)
2. sun.ini resolution 1362x740 (max screen is 1366x768 but removing some pixels at the borders solved scrolling lag)
3. used http://bitpatch.com/ddwrapper.html with NoVideoMemory = 1 and rest default
4. start Game.exe with -win for window mode

i've played some games with saving and so on without any issue...

Offline DeathMarineEK

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #68 on: February 12, 2013, 09:03:51 AM »
Well I guess i'm cursed lol I tried your fix and it seemed to work, but then as soon as I scroll tells me main executable has stopped working!  XD Then I tried a couple of other things and now it doesn't even open the game anymore  :P ill keep fucking with it, once again thanks for all the help guys

Offline DeathMarineEK

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #69 on: February 12, 2013, 09:18:54 AM »
Well I'm back to the old settings with just the http://tore.cnc-comm.com/TS_Win8fix.zip applied, playing in fullscreen. Seems I'll never get perfect gameplay :(

Offline Izzyness

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #70 on: February 13, 2013, 02:38:49 AM »
I was looking for a solution and was trying various things on this thread and found a method that worked for me.

Now I'm using the TFD version running windows 8 pro 64 bit, I don't know if we're on a certain or different version by now, but I think if I have it working, I should let it be known how.

obviously I have the 1.0.3 rev 4 patch installed.

I was running into the whole no menu thing.

I have the comparability on windows 98 / Me, 16 bit color, run in 640x480, and run as admin.

The only real changes I made were to add the files a from the ddwrapper zip and the TS WIN8fix zip.

For what its worth, I'm also using sun.exe, not game.exe

EDIT: I just did a complete uninstall and re-install and confirmed that this set up still works.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2013, 06:09:03 AM by Izzyness »

Offline Tore

  • Webmaster
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1298
  • Dancing Tanks!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cnc-comm.com
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #71 on: February 13, 2013, 09:44:16 AM »
ddwrapper and IE-ddraw aren't compatible with each other. There's no point in combining them it only results in wasted disk space.

Does sun.exe work, but not game.exe for you Izzyness? If so then Microsoft might apply some compatibility fixes on sun.exe, but not game.exe which would be rather interesting.

Offline Izzyness

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #72 on: February 14, 2013, 12:34:15 AM »
Hm..... I had not realized that they are not compatible with each other.

I was really trying all methods.

Then I suppose just the win8 fix did it.

And you are right, I just tried to run it without the ddwrapper files and things still worked fine.

And I just copied the compatibility settings over to game.exe and things still worked.

The only thing I can really tell you out of the ordinary is that my graphics card, nvidia 660m GTX, is handling the game, not intel hd graphics (I'm using a laptop if it hasn't been given away by now).

And I'm using the 310.90 nvidia driver.

Perhaps run the game with the graphics card?

Offline DanGoMad

  • Minigunner/Rifle Soldier
  • *****
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #73 on: July 18, 2013, 12:00:30 AM »
Use this fix - http://tore.cnc-comm.com/TS_Win8fix.zip just put all into your Folder where u have installed game. That have fix my Problems to. But i can`t play internet then. I can enter my account name and passwd. Then it errored before i came in lobby. I will try to find why. mfg

Offline Nyerguds

  • C&C1 H4x0r
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2906
  • Green Forum Alien
    • View Profile
    • C&C95 Project 1.06
Re: Tiberian Sun, Windows 8
« Reply #74 on: July 18, 2013, 09:33:28 AM »
Dunno when you tried that, but the online service (XWIS) was down a couple of weeks ago.